First Countdown berths locked up in Denver
Sunday, July 20, 2014

Robert Hight

Former NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series world champs Robert Hight, Antron Brown, Andrew Hines, and Eddie Krawiec are among the first competitors to officially qualify for the Countdown to the Championship.

Seven drivers have so far locked up their spots thanks to their efforts at the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals, the 14th of 18 races that make up the series regular season. Only the top 10 finishers in each of the four Mello Yello classes – Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Stock, and Pro Stock Motorcycle – can run for the championship in the season’s final six events.

Following the Mile-High Nationals only the NHRA Sonoma Nationals in Sonoma, Calif., the O’Reilly Auto Parts NHRA Northwest Nationals in Seattle, the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals in Brainerd, and the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis remain for drivers to lock up spots.

Top Fuel
1. Doug Kalitta
2. Antron Brown

Funny Car
1. Robert Hight

Pro Stock
Erica Enders-Stevens

Pro Stock Motorcycle
1. Andrew Hines
2. Eddie Krawiec
3. Hector Arana Jr.