NHRA community rakes in Dot-Com awardsFriday, January 24, 2014
Posted by: NHRA.com staff

Each year since 1999, internet-based drag racing magazine CompetitionPlus.com has presented special awards, the Dot Coms, a reader-voted Best Of presentation. This year was a banner year for the Dot Coms, with hundreds of thousands of votes cast, and lots of awards went to the NHRA community.

Osage Casino Tulsa Raceway Park was voted drag strip of the year, and Lucas Oil was named Sponsor of the Year. Retiring Alcohol Funny Car giant Frank Manzo was voted Sportsman Racer of the Year while John Force won Professional Racer of the Year and was voted the winner of the magazine’s Mike Aiello Person of the Year award. National Dragster, the official publication of the NHRA, was voted as Printed Publication of the Year.

Courtney Force was voted to have the Best Twitter Feed, WFO Radio was named the Internet Radio/TV Show of the Year while Yellow Bullet won both for Facebook page and message board of the Year

The announcement of Castrol’s departure from the John Force Racing team at the end of 2014 was voted News Story of the Year.