NHRA Story
Beadle to be inducted into Motorsports Hall of Fame of America
Friday, January 24, 2014

Three-time former NHRA Funny Car champion Raymond Beadle will be among the seven motorsports figures inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s 26th class of racing legends Wednesday, Aug. 6, 2014, at Detroit’s historic Fillmore Theater. 

Beadle, driver of the famed Blue Max Funny Car, won three straight NHRA Funny Car championships, 1979-81. His first title in 1979 ended Don Prudhomme’s four-year reign atop the class. He also won three IHRA championships. Before beginning his Funny Car career, Beadle drove front-engine Top Fuelers out of his native Texas. After he retired from driving, he continued to field cars for several years and also had a successful NASCAR team that won the 1989 Cup title with Rusty Wallace behind the wheel.

Others to be honored at the affair are IMSA founder John Bishop, three-time AMA Grand National champion Ricky Graham, two-time Indy 500 winner Arie Luyendyk, former NASCAR Cup champion Wallace, stock car champ Marshall Teague, and Ole Bardahl, founder of the Bardahl Oil Co.

“Once again, the depth and breadth of American motorsports is reflected in the 2014 class of inductees,” said Ron Watson, president of the Motorsports Hall of Fame.  

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is racing’s Cooperstown, memorializing achievement in all forms of motorized competition. Over the years, 209 motorsports luminaries have been inducted. The 99-person nominating panel itself reads like a who’s who of racing, including names like Mario Andretti, Don Garlits, Craig Breedlove, and Richard Petty. Tickets for the induction ceremony can be purchased by calling 248-349-7223 or through the Hall of Fame's website, www.mshf.com.